Kerala Sahitya Akademi

Kerala Sahitya Akademi

Kerala Sahitya Akademi

The Kerala Sahitya Akademi is an autonomous institution established for the promotion and development of Malayalam language and literature. Formally inaugurated by the then Raja Pramukh late Chithira Thirunal Balarama Varma Raja of Travancore at Kanakakunu Palace, Thiruvananthapuram on 15th October, 1956, the Akademi started functioning in the Secretariat, Thiruvananthapuram and later on was shifted to a room in the Thrissur Museum Bungalow. In September, 1957 it was again shifted to the present beautiful building near the Thrissur Town Hall.
The Akademi functions under the overall control of a General Council consisting of eminent persons representing different branches of Malayalam literature, and is assisted by an Executive Board consisting of the President, Vice President, District Collector as Treasurer, Secretary of the Akademi and Secretary to Government in charge of Cultural Department or his nominee and persons elected by the General Council from among its members. Apart from this there will be a Finance Committee, with the Treasurer as the Chairman, a nominee of the Secretary to Government in charge of the Culture Department, a nominee of the Secretary to Government in charge of Finance Department, one member of the Executive Board nominated by the Committee and one member of the General Council nominated by the Council.

Governing Body :
Sri. V.S. Achuthanandan
Chief Minister
Sri. M.A. Baby
Minister for Cultural Affairs
Sri. Venu V. I A S
Secretary for Cultural Affairs Department
Sri. M. Mukundan
Sri. Purushan Kadalundi
Dr. V.K. Baby I.A.S.
Treasurer (Thrissur District Collector)
Executive Committee Members:
Sri. K.E.N. Kunjahammad
Sri. Ravunni
Sri. Asokan Charuvil
Sri. Prabha Varma
Prof. Amrutha Kumari

General Council Members:
Sri.. Vysakhan
Sri. Narayanan
Sri. P.K. Gopi
Prof. Kadathanattu Narayanan
Sri. A.K. Nambiar
Sri. K.P. Ramanunni
Mr. Paul Kallanode
Sri. Vijayalekshmy
Sri. Mini Sukumaran
Sri. V.V. Rugmini
Sri. Akbar Kakkattil
Sri. T.N. Prakash
Sri. Kureepuzha Sreekumar
Sri. C.B. Sudhakaran
Prof. S. Saradakutty
Sri. V. Harshakumar

Sub Committees:
In order to carry out the day-to-day functioning of the different activities of the Akademi effectively Sub Committees have been formed each with a Convener and a few members. The various sub committees are:
Publication Committee
Works & Planning Committee
Library & Research Committee
Editorial Committee on Malayalam Literary Survey
Educational Committee
Committee on Literary Meets
Sahityakara Directory
Sanskarika Diary & Literary Archives

Written by


November 15, 2009 0
Written by
Written by
Written by
Written by
Written by
Written by


November 14, 2009 0
Written by
Written by

Gajanan Madhav Muktibodh

November 13, 2009 0