The Veteran Film Maker K. Balachander Conferred the Dadasaheb Phalke Award

The President, Smt. Pratibha Devisingh Patil has said cinema was a very powerful medium for conveying messages and it was necessary for promoting constructive and value based thinking for a culturally rich country like ours. This medium imposed a great responsibility on everyone associated with the film industry to use the power of cinema to do good for society, through the portrayal of attitudes that help in building a tolerant and harmonious society. The President Smt. Pratibha Devisingh Patil stated this while delivering her address at the 58th National Film Awards function here today.

Elaborating further, the President, Smt. Pratibha Devisingh Patil, stated that creativity knows no barrier of age and that the human spirit has always been striving for excellence. The awards received by 5 young artistes and an award for best writing in cinema to Ms. Vijay Mulay at her 90 years of age was an encouraging fact, this would surely inspire and motivate young film makers to give their greatest possible expression through this powerful medium.

Regarding the potential of the Indian film industry, the President stated the Indian film market has become more attractive for foreign film houses.  At the same time, prominent Indian enterprises are also participating in producing and distributing films around the world.  India’s soft power was engaged in projecting the nation world wide and Indian cinema had found markets in a large number of countries.

Speaking on the occasion, the Minister for Information & Broadcasting, Smt. Ambika Soni said that the Government had moved forward in setting up the National Film Heritage Mission with an outlay of Rs.660 crores.  This Mission would provide a platform for comprehensive solutions for cataloging, dissemination and monetization of film content, video tapes, posters and other related materials in the possession of either the Film Wing of Ministry of Information and Broadcasting or with the various State Governments as well as with private individuals and institutions.  The greatest benefit of the Mission would be to enable the preservation of the invaluable filmic heritage of the country which is an integral part of our socio-cultural heritage.  3000 films will be acquired and digitized and 3000 films will be restored and transferred to inter-negatives under the scheme and will be available at affordable rates as DVDs to public for viewing.

Elaborating further the Minister said, the year 2013 would mark the centenary year of Indian Cinema.  This centenary would be a milestone in India’s cinematic journey that needs to be showcased and celebrated.  The Minister added, the Centenary celebrations would provide the country an excellent opportunity to exhibit India’s ‘soft power’ on a global scale and reinforce the idea of “Cinemas of India” alongwith the “Incredible India” campaign. As part of the Centenary celebrations, the National Museum of Indian Cinema, a first of its kind in India, would showcase the evolution of Indian Cinema, which is being built in Mumbai and is expected to be inaugurated during the centenary year celebrations.

Regarding skill development in the film sector, the Minister said that the two Institutes under the Ministry of Information and Broadcasting, namely, Film and Television Institute (FTII), Pune and Satyajit Ray Film and Television Institute (SRFTI), Kolkata were being upgraded to cater to the ever-increasing, highly skilled and specialized manpower requirement of the film and TV industry.  Measures were being taken to declare these two Institutes, as Institutions of National Importance through an Act of the Parliament.

The Minister added that the winners of the awards in various categories had reinforced the belief in the motto of the National Film Awards that there was only one recognition “GOOD CINEMA”. The ‘Good Cinema’ provided a platform for film centres to emerge all over the country thereby reflecting the vibrant socio cultural identity of our country in the realm of cinema.

Some of the key highlights of this year’s National Film Awards are as follows:

·        The Dadasaheb Phalke Award for the year 2010 was conferred to Shri K.  Balachander, the veteran film maker.  The award is conferred by the Government of India for outstanding contribution to the growth and development of Indian Cinema.  The award consists of a Swarn Kamal, a cash prize of Rs.10 lakhs and a shawl. The award is given on the recommendations of a committee of eminent persons.

·        Four child artists were awarded the National Award this time for various films, these include:

1.       Harsh Mayar for the film “I am Kalam” – resides in Dakshinpuri, Delhi.

2.       Shantanu Ranganekar for the film “Champions”.

3.       Machindra Gadekar for the film “Champions” – Lives in Dharavi, Mumbai.

4.       Vivek Chabukswar for the film “Baboo Band Baaja”.

·        For the category of the Best Actor & Actress

1.       K Dhanush – First time National Award Winner for the film ‘Aadukalam’ (Tamil).  The actor who is also Rajnikant’s son-in-law would be given a Rajat Kamal and Rs.50,000/- cash.

2.       Salim Kumar – for the film ‘Adaminte Makan Abu’ (Malayalam) in which he has played a protagonist in serious role for the first time. He has been awarded the a Rajat Kamal and Rs.50000/- cash.

3.       Mitalee Jagtap Varadkar – for the film ‘Baboo Band Baaja’ (Marathi). She has been awarded a Rajat Kamal and Rs.50000/- (sharing).

4.       Saranya Ponvannan – for the film ‘Thenmerkku Paruvakkatru’ (Tamil). She has been awarded a Rajat Kamal and Rs.50000/- (sharing).

·        For the Category of Best Feature Film, ‘Adaminte Makan Abu’ (Malayalam) film Produced by Shri Salim Ahamad and Ashraf Bedi, were given the Swarn Kamal and Rs.2,50,000/- each.

·        Indira Gandhi Award for Best Debut Film of a Director was given to ‘Baboo Band Baaja’ (Marathi), Directed by Rajesh Pinjani, Produced by Neeta Jadhav. The winners were awarded Swarn Kamal and Rs.1,25,000/- each.

·        The award for Best Popular Film providing Wholesome Entertainment has been given to ‘Dabangg’ (Hindi), produced by Arbaaz Khan, Malaika Arora Khan and Dhilin Mehta, Directed by Abhinav Singh Kashyap.

·        The Nargis Dutt Award for Best Feature Film on National Integration has been given to ‘Moner Manush’. The Film is an Indo-Bangladesh collaboration venture. One of the Producers Mr. Habibur Rehman, is from Bangladesh.

·        The Award for the Best Hindi Film has been given to ‘Do Dooni Chaar’ Produced by Arindam Chaudhuri and Directd by Habib Faisal.

·        The film ‘Aadukalam’ has  won 6 Awards in various categories:

Best Director to Vetri Maaran

Best Actor to K.Dhanush

Best Screenplay (Original) to Vetri Maaran

Best Editing to T.E Kishore

Best Choreography to V.Dinesh Kumar

Special Mention to V.I.S Jayapalan, who is a Sri Lankan actor

·        The film ‘Adaminte Makan Abu’ has  won 4 Awards:

Best Feature Film

Best Actor to Salim Kumar

Best Cinematography to Madhu Ambat

Best Music direction to Issac Thomas Kottukapally

·        The award for the Best Book on Cinema has been given to Vijaya Mulay at the age of 90 years.

·        The film ‘Ishqiya’ has won 4 Awards:

Best Audiography – Location Sound Recordist to Kaamod Kharade

Best Audiography – Re-recordist of the final mixed track to Debajit Changmai

Best Music Direction – Music Director to Vishal Bhardwaj

Best Female Playback Singer – to Rekha Bhardwaj.


(source: PIB)

Subscribe / Share

Article by admin

Authors bio is coming up shortly.
admin tagged this post with: , , Read 174 articles by

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

LI Search